Sri Subrahmanya Swami Devasthanam, Tiruchendur, South India

Tiruchendur's Subsidiary Temples

Śrī Subrahmanya Swami Devasthanam
Śrī Subrahmanya Swami Devasthānam, Tiruchendur

The subsidiary temples attached to the Tiruchendur administration are nineteen. Most of them are minor shrines spread over the town and the suburbs to a distance of four miles. Two of them are in the Puttantaruvai village. A full list is given below. They are mostly under the management of pujaris, though nominally under the Devasthānam administration.

Most conspicuous of them all is the town Śiva temple of Śrī Śivakolundeeswarar and Śrī Anandavalli Amman. The outer measureinents are 356 feet long and 168 feet broad. Situated in the heart of then town, its dimensions are large, its inner precincts majestic and the approaches leading to it covered by two large mantapas. The columns of sculptured yālis and conventional types are of exquisite workmanship.

The exterior mantapa contains many shops, and is cut from the main entrance to the temple by an intervening road. This temple, which might have been re-built in the days of the Nayaks in the 17th century to such enormous proportions, ought to have seen better days, and latterly eclipsed by the growing importance and popularity attached to the seashore temple of Śrī Subrahmanyam.

  1. Śrī Venkatesa Perumāl within the prakāra of the temple
  2. Śrī Valli Amman cave temple on the sea border
  3. Śrī Tūndu-Kai Vināyakar Temple
  4. Śrī Swarna Vanam Sastha Kovil
  5. Śrī ŚivakolundÓswarar and ānandavalli Amman Kovil alias Mela Koyil or Town Śiva Temple
  6. Śrī Amirtaguna Vinayāgar temple
  7. Śrī Ananta Sastha Koyil
  8. Śrī Allkonda Vināyagar temple
  9. Śrī Arasalwar Vināyagar temple
  10. Śrī Muttaramman temple
  11. Śrī Sabhāpati Vināyagar temple
  12. Śrī Maragatha Valli Amman temple
  13. Śrī Veluganta Amman temple
  14. Śrī Uchimā Kāli Amman temple
  15. Śrī Thalai-untri Sasthan Koyil
  16. Śrī Kundru Mel Iyen Sasthan Koyil
  17. Śrī Chokkar temple
  18. Śrī Pirappudai Sasthan Koyil and Saravana Vināyagar temple in Inam Tiruppani Puttantaruvai village in Tiruchendur taluq; and
  19. Śrī Bāla Vināyagar temple